Day Trips & Trails
Part of the Civil War Trail
Estimated time 6 hours: begin at 10 am and end 4:00 pm
(Lairdland Farm House is a Private home call for appointment at 931-363-2205)
Make yourself at home at the historic Lairdland Farm House & Civil War Musuem located at 3238 Blackburn Hollow Road, Cornersville, TN in Giles County. In addition to being on the National Register of Historic Places, Lairdland offers visitors a look back in time at true southern hospitality. Built in 1831, the Farm House has two Traveler’s rooms—one houses the property’s Civil War Museum featuring weaponry and memorabilia and both rooms have unique wooden ceilings displaying actual draw knife ridges. Throughout the house’s nine rooms visitors will find antique furniture, fine china and memorabilia belonging to the owner’s family.
Head over to Elm Springs located at 740 Mooresville Pike, Columbia TN Open Tues – Fri 9 am – 5 pm. Admission is charged. Call 931-380-1844. Elm Springs is the name of one of the lovely antebellum houses in Maury County. It is located on Mooresville Pike about two hundred yards of where this road intersects with Highway 50. Located on a hill, it is plainly visible to all who pass by this way. The house was built about 1837 by Mr. James Dick, a wealthy New Orleans merchant, for his sister, Sarah Todd, wife of Christopher Todd. The Todd family here until the couple passed away and then the property was inherited by a daughter, Susan, who was the wife of Abram M. Looney, a prominent attorney in Maury County.
During the Civil War, Looney served the Confederacy as a Captain, later promoted to Colonel, in Company H, 1st Tennessee Infantry. He was an outspoken Southerner and this almost resulted in the loss of Elm Springs. In November, 1864, the Federal Army, which had occupied Maury County for several months, was preparing defensive positions ahead of the oncoming Confederate troops under Gen. John B. Hood. Their line of defense extended from the Mooresville Pike to the Mt. Pleasant Pike. One of the defensive tactics used was the destruction of important buildings along the line. Elm Springs anchored the eastern flank of their line. Many houses were burned during those days and Elm Springs was slated to be destroyed too. Fires were started that might have burned the house except for the opportune arrival of Confederate troops who extinguished the flames. The Akin family acquired the property about 1910 and in 1985 the Gillham family purchased it and restored it to near- original state. In 1992 it was acquired by the Sons of the Confederacy for its national headquarters.
Head to the square in Columbia and eat at Square Market & Café – Old world taste with hometown charm. Located at 36 Public Square, Columbia 931-840-3636.
After lunch head to tour at Rippavilla Plantation located at 5700 Main Street, Spring Hill, TN 931-486-9037 Open Mon-Sat 9 am – 5 pm and Sun 1 -5 pm. Admission is charged. Constructed from 1851-1855 this mansion was built by Nathaniel Frances Cheairs IV, a colonel in the Confederate Army. Here General John Bell Hood lashed out at his officers for letting the Union forces sneak out of Spring Hill. That same afternoon, in desperation, Hood ordered the assault on the federal fortification in Franklin, TN—resulting in the bloody Battle in Franklin and the beginning of the end for the Army of Tennessee. Today the home has been restored to its 1860’s appearance with many original period family antique pieces and genuine Civil War artifacts on display. Discover The Battle of Thompson’s Station. After the Battle of Stones River, Union soldiers ventured out to collect food and hay. However, on March 5, 1863 General Nathan Bedford Forest and his cavalry were awaiting them and attacked the Union Soldiers. General Forest’s cavalry ended up capturing Union Colonel John Coburn and there were a total of 1,800 casualties. See the Battle of Franklin through Genera Hood’s eyes at Winstead Hill. This was the Confederate Army’s staging area during the Battle of Franklin. It was here where Hood watched his men march north to meet the Union Forces in Franklin and he witnessed the disastrous Battle of Franklin unfold.
5700 Main Street, Spring Hill, TN
Open Mon.-Sat., 9:30am-4:30pm; Sun., 1-4:30pm. The last tour begins at 3:30 pm. Winter hours: Dec. 15-March, Tues.-Sat., 10 am-4 pm. Sun. 1-4 pm. The last tour begins at 3 pm. Admission charged.
Great place to have your wedding.